Being a Nomad in the Age of Covid-19

I don’t have a home. Approaching my 30s, I live my life on the road — traveling between towns and stopping every few months to pick up work.

I’m part of a community of nomads. We’re a community that’s been practicing minimalism for years now. It’s easier to take less with you when you’re constantly moving around. You might also know us as backpackers, long-term travelers, or ex-pats. We come from all walks of life and go by many different titles. Many of us have adapted to the times and picked up technical expertise to make a living anywhere. They’re called digital nomads.

I use a more traditional method to boost the funds in my bank account. I follow the harvest trail to make my living. It allows me to fuel my wanderlust in towns that I most likely would have never visited.

The harvest trail is an unlikely tourist trail and it allows me to feed off the fruits of my labour. Literally. I’ve been doing it for three years now.

Continue reading here: https://link.medium.com/wSJcrKOeN9

Published by Paige M.P.

A socially awkward, sometimes hilariously embarrassing, introvert embracing life day by day.

9 thoughts on “Being a Nomad in the Age of Covid-19

  1. Good decision to stay put Paige as cases are rising just now in Toronto, Ottawa, and Peel! And students have just started going back to school so sadly there’re bound to be more cases!

    Like

    1. Really?! I can’t believe kids are actually going back to school – I guess it makes sense as parents can’t always be around for childcare but it’s crazy to me how relaxed the government has become after months of heavy restrictions… and yet the cases aren’t much different. Even here in New Zealand, they’re becoming more relaxed around navigating the alert levels with the recent spike in Auckland. I guess the economy needs some attention now.

      Like

      1. This website explains the situation for kids returning to elementary & secondary Ontario schools :

        https://www.ontario.ca/page/covid-19-reopening-schools

        Families do have the option of computer learning at home if parents and/or the kids think it’s what’s needed.

        I believe most universities will be conducting online courses until January. However there are already Covid-19

        cases from off-campus student parties.

        It’s all one big experiment which will only work if young people behave responsibly and care about others.

        Like

  2. I like this post, because you are living the life you want to live. I wish you happiness and especially good health so that you made continue this trek for a long time.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started